CHAKRAS: The Root Chakra- The Path to Enlightenment Begins With Regulating This Wheel of Life

Chakras“- or spinning wheels of life- are energy centers. These 7 manifestations of energy- both physical and metaphysical- are located throughout the body and comprise the aura.  It is believed that through these wheels, one can gain or shed excess energy and bring the aura- and your life, into balance.

“Chakras are more subtle than the physical body but their state of balance will reflect in our physical and mental health.” ( “Chakra”)

Each chakra resonates- much like a wave length in a rainbow, to different colors and sounds and arenas of your life.

Observe this picture:

These are the chakras.

By working through meditation, yoga and other balancing actions- one is ultimately working toward balancing the chakra ‘wheels’ and toward balancing and cleansing the aura.

Kundalini- The Kundalinin is the ‘primal fire’ located in the Root Chakra at the base of the spine. Elightenment is ultimately the chanelling of this latent energy from the Root Chakra upward to the Crown Chakra.

The Root Chakra- At the base of the spine is the Root Chakra (Muladhara). It resonates to the color red and is the foundation of earthly, physical well-being and security.  It has been said that this is also where “our individual potential lies sleeping in the depths our unconcious mind.” ( “Wheels of Life” Summer 2012) An often neglected area of focus toward balancing and tapping ito the power of the Red Chakra is the practice of the yamas and the niyams. Focus on these aspects of the ‘good’ and ‘bad’ within us will help us to free ourselves from the earthly shackles of our passions and actions.

“The Yamas

*** Borrowed from Discover Yoga Online- “Yama-Niyama”

Since Yama comes from the root word ‘yam’ ‘to hold’ or ‘to rule’, yama yoga represents the behaviours that ‘control’ certain negative tendencies (the ‘animal/instinctive nature’) that occur in all human beings. These are the five ideals of:

  • Ahimsa (non-violence)
  • Satya (truth)
  • Asteya (non-stealing, or non-cheating)
  • Brahmacharya (continence, involving self-restraint and moderation in all you do)
  • Aparigraha (non-coveting, including no envy, jealousy or unhealthy competitiveness).

The Niyamas

The niyamas are the general actions that are necessary if we truly want to achieve a condition of health and deep balance within ourselves. The niyamas ask us to aim for:

  • Purity (Sauca)
  • Contentment (Santosha)
  • Ardour (Ishawar-Pranidhana)
  • Discipline (Tapas)
  • And study of the Self (Svadhyaya)
    Red Chakra Basics:
    Color: Red
    Sound: Lam
    Area of Life: Survival Issues, Security and Instinctive Urges
    Also Known As: “The Unconcious”
    Physically: governs sexuality
     Mentally: governs stability
    Emotionally: governs sensuality
    Spiritually: governs a sense of security
     Senses: Has a relation to the sense of smell.
    A Brief Meditation:
    Sit comfortably in your chair or in a meditative pose. Inhale deeply. Slowly release.
    Close your eyes.
    Now, in your mind’s eye envision a red spinning wheel. Say aloud Ram. Ram. Ram.
    Then Say Aloud this Affirmation: I am well-grounded and secure. All is well. Inhale deeply…. Exhale slowly…
    How do you feel?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: